Our Specialists



Dr. Jean-Lucien Rouleau

Title(s), professional position(s) and university affiliation(s): 

Full Professor, Department of Medicine, Université de Montréal

Jean Rouleau

Dr. Jean L. Rouleau currently practices cardiology at the Montreal Heart Institute (MHI). Until November 2015, he was the Scientific Director of the Institute of Circulatory and Respiratory Health of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research. The Dean of the Faculty Medicine at Université de Montréal from 2003 to 2010 as well as a respected cardiologist and world-renowned researcher, Dr. Rouleau has also taught at the University of Toronto and was Director of Cardiology and the Cardiovascular Program at the University Health Network (UHN) and Mount Sinai Hospital in Toronto. Through his work at many university hospitals, he has developed a deep understanding of teaching, research and care environments. He received his Doctor of Medicine from the University of Ottawa and did clinical training at McGill University and a postdoctoral research fellowship in San Francisco. Dr. Rouleau is also regarded as an excellent teacher, having influenced a generation of students in both cardiology and medicine. However, it is in the biomedical sciences that Dr. Rouleau has made a reputation in Canada through his cardiology research in heart failure, post-infarction, ventricular remodeling, neurohormones, therapeutic interventions, ventricular function and the development of heart failure post-infarction.

His publication list is counting more than 475 articles, 305 abstracts and 7 book chapters.

Research interest(s) 

Heart failure
Therapeutic interventions
Heart failure post-infarction
Ventricular remodelling
Ventricular function

Awards and Distinctions 
  • Order of Canada
  • Professor Emeritus Prize of the Université de Montréal / Department of Medicine
  • Cardiologist Emeritus of the Association des Cardiologues du Québec
  • Confederation Commemorative Medal of Canada
  • Exceptional Merit Award of the FRSQ
  • The John Forester Career Achievement Lecture Award od the Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences, University of Manitoba 
  • Royal College Henry Friesen Award
  • Prestige Award of the Association médicale du Québec
  • Canadian Cardiovascular Society Annual Achievement Award
  • Research Achievement Award, Canadian Cardiovascular Society